One Stop Global Shop

world-market

There are so many things to experience in the area to expand your knowledge of different cultures and to just experience new things.

One of my absolute favorite places to go is World Market.

World Market is a store that sells EVERYTHING from Home Décor, to furniture and global foods, yes, I said GLOBAL.

The best thing about World Market is that the products they sell are not just from ONE specific place, but from everywhere, from India to Africa to Canada, as well as local products from the United States of America also.

I got the opportunity to visit the Rockville, MD location of World Market, located less than an hour away from Towson University and fell in love with the display.

Each section of the store was dedicated to a different country.

One thing that I know people will appreciate about World Market is the diversity you will experience just by being in the store.

You see so many different types of people who are eager to find foods from their home countries or people who are just curious about flavors and styles that may be foreign to them.

I notice one lady in particular who was looking at spices in the Indian section who happened to be Greek. Her name was Munendra (she didn’t wish to share her last name).

We had a conversation about the different types of spices used in India and how they were different to those used in Greece.

Then she began to tell me just how frequent of a World Market shopper she is and why she loved the store so much.

“I love this story because I love to cook. but my son gets tired of me cooking food from my country, which I never understood,” she said as she laughed. “By shopping here, I learn a lot about different countries. I can try new things with new spices in the kitchen. Sometimes they turn out yummy, other times, ehhh, not so much.”

Munendra was one of many people in the store that day who were from different countries and thoroughly enjoyed the diversity that World Market had to offer.

So, if you’re looking for a place where you can explore the whole world (or most of it) in one visit, check out World Market and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

